because I could not stop for life

because I could not stop for life

 

Because I could not stop for life

it let me pass it by

I never had any use for a midwife

or an occasion to ask why

 

Because I could not stop for life

I left it far behind

I had no time to gain a wife

and always politely declined

 

Because I could not stop for life

I rarely made a friend

Although they seemed to be so rife

To me they were a dead end

 

Because I did  not stop for life

it let me pass it by

I have no offspring, friend or wife

And no one to say goodbye

 

Because I did not stop for life

and let myself  pass it by

I will be the last Fife

With no comfort as I die.

Leave a Reply

